News at your fingertip!


BVI Association of Compliance Officers Elect New Executive Council

On Thursday, 7th March 2013, members of the BVI Association of Compliance Officers (the "Association" or "BVI ACO") elected a new Executive Council following the expiration of the term of the previous executive body.


The Executive Council, which will lead the Association for the years 2013 and 2014 are as follows:


Chairman: Kyria Ali chairman@bviaco.org

Vice Chairman: L. Marlon Marquis vicechair@bviaco.org

Secretary: Trisha Evans secretary@bviaco.org

Assistant Secretary: Lisa Farrell-Davis

Treasurer: Myrla-May Barzey-Penn treasurer@bviaco.org

Education Chair: T'sa James-Hodge educhair@bviaco.org

Legislative Chair: Jamie Prieto Ruiz legalchair@bviaco.org

Ethics Chair: Blondell Challenger ethicschair@bviaco.org


The BVI ACO aims to foster a culture of compliance in the jurisdiction. It is the Association's ultimate goal to contribute to the reputation of the British Virgin Islands as a highly attractive and reputable international financial centre.


All Compliance Officers and those employed within compliance departments of BVI regulated entities are strongly encouraged to join the Association. Being a member of the BVI ACO allows you and your employer to benefit from the strength of the Association, as a unified body, with respect to addressing compliance related issues and liaising with the British Virgin Islands Financial Services Commission as well as with other local and international bodies. Other benefits include obtaining discounts on training provided locally and with some international organizations, including attendance at international conferences.